

## Rehoboth Beach-Dewey Beach Chamber of Commerce & Visitors Center

P. O. Box 216 \*501 Rehoboth Avenue, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971 - 302-227-2233 \*800-441-1329 \*Hotline 302-227-6446 \*Fax 302-227-8351 - rehoboth@beach-fun.com \*www.beach-fun.com

## TIME SENSITIVE - ACTION REQUESTED

On Tuesday, May 30, 2017, the Delaware Joint Finance Committee (JFC) voted to eliminate the current 1% allocated funding to all State Convention & Visitor Bureaus (CVB's), which is currently a portion of the 8% lodging tax collected by hotels and motels Statewide. This would also terminate the portion of the same 1% which is currently distributed to all Chambers of Commerce in Sussex County. The allocation to Chambers in Sussex is tied to stringent requirements with regard to marketing expenditures and recorded proof of return on investment.

On Wednesday, May 31, 2017, the Rehoboth Beach Dewey Beach Chamber of Commerce (RBDBCC) Legislative Representative, Mark Lally, as well as several of our tourism partners and Carol Everhart, met at Legislative Hall in the hope that there would be an opportunity to address the JFC. The operating procedure in place did not allow that opportunity. Below you will find a list of the current JFC members. We are seeking your assistance in personally contacting members of the JFC and/or your legislators by phone or in person to seek their support. We did not provide e-mails, as legislators are more receptive to personal contact. If 7 of the 12 member JFC vote in favor, the 1% could be placed back into the budget. The loss of this allocated revenue would, at a minimum, deplete or severely cut the marketing ability for Sussex Chambers, and in some cases, could put them out of business. The effect of this loss for the RBDBCC would result in revenues planned for programs and events to be reassigned to marketing efforts and reduce programs and event opportunities, which is a negative for the business community. We know this is a complicated issue, so please feel free to contact Carol (302-227-6446–office; 302-542-7547–cell) at any time . . . we need your help.

## JOINT FINANCE COMMITTEE

Rep. Melanie George Smith, Chair – 302-577-8843

Senator Harris B. McDowell, Co-Chair – 302-744-4147

Senator Brian Bushweller – 302-744-4114

Senator Bruce Ennis – 302-744-4310

Senator Nicole Poore - 302-744-4164

Senator Catherine Cloutier – 302-744-4114

Senator Dave Lawson – 302-744-4114

Rep. William Carson – 302-653-8642

Rep. Debra J. Heffernan – 302-762-3478

Rep. James "JJ" Johnson – 302-322-3521

Rep. Harvey R. Kenton – 302-744-4171

Rep. Michael Ramone - 302-584-8601

## SUSSEX COUNTY LEGISLATORS

Senator Ernie Lopez – 302-744-4136

Senator Gary Simpson – 302-422-3460

Senator Brian Pettyjohn – 302-858-0694

Senator Gerald Hocker – 302-428-1269

Senator Bryant Richardson – 302-629-9788

Representative Pete Schwartzkopf – 302-227-6252

Representative Steve Smyk – 302-381-5773

Representative Ruth Briggs King – 302-856-2772

Representative Charles Postles – 302-245-1817

Representative David Wilson – 302-422-9270

Representative Ronald Gray - 302-436-7024

Representative Daniel Short – 302-744-4172

Representative Timothy Dukes – 302-280-6344

Representative Richard Collins – 302-381-1610